The Evolution of an Artist (The Basement Years)

My first bachelor apartment was a total sh*thole…and I loved it. It was big. It was cheap. And, it came with an absentee landlord. The perfect spot for an artist.

 

base44

My first bachelor apartment was a total shithole…and I loved it.

Not only was it big and insanely cheap, it came with an absentee landlord. If you wanted to play your music really loud at all hours (which I did), or smoke copious amounts of weed (which I also did), you were free to do so.

Another great thing about living in a total shithole, is that you’re not concerned with keeping up appearances. This is especially great if you’re an artist; art can get messy.

Over the next several years, I splashed about completely unfettered, and in the process, made a huge mess of the place. It was a lot of fun.

Even better, it was during this time that I really came into my own as an artist. After struggling for years, I was finally able to control my hands, and bring my visions to fruition.

Due to an ongoing war between another tenant and the landlord, and owing to a rapidly deteriorating building, it was time to seek out more respectable digs.

There is absolutely no comparison between the work I made before entering that apartment, and the work I made while in it. I arrived an amateur, and I emerged a professional artist.

The evolution continues.

2 responses to “The Evolution of an Artist (The Basement Years)

  1. David, I loved reading your post. Takes me back to the time when I lived in my hovel apartment. It was junk – hot in summer, freezing in winter, no water pressure, and 3 flights of stairs up. But it’s where I found myself, and where I decided I would, indeed, be an artist. Thank you for that wonderful memory jog!

Leave a Reply

