Influences

I have many influences, and as my knowledge of the art world grows, so too does the list of those I admire. The following artists have influenced the overall aesthetic of my work.

.

cornell1

ABOVE: Joseph Cornell, A Swan Lake for Tamara Toumanova: Homage to the Romantic Ballet, 1946, box construction with blue glass and painted glass, 9.5 x 13 x 4 inches, The Menil Collection

I have many influences, and as my knowledge of the art world grows, so too does the list of artists I admire.

I like different artists for different reasons but for this post, I thought I would list a few who have helped to shape the general aesthetic of my work:

Joseph Cornell

Of all my influences, Joseph Cornell is probably the biggest. It is because of him that I make three-dimensional shadow boxes.

A. J. Casson

I am a huge fan of the Group of Seven and many of my earlier works are nature based.

Frank Stella

I am a stickler for measurement and a big fan of geometrical shapes.

Andy Warhol

Although I am not one to celebrity worship, I like the flat graphical imagery of the Pop Art movement.

Bridget Riley

I love the illusion of depth and I seek to convey the same – albeit not on a flat surface.

Donald Judd

While I am definitely not a minimalist, the ‘less is more’ ethos of this movement along with the clean, industrial look of Judd’s work have influenced my artistic practice substantially.

Lawren Harris

Another member of the Group of Seven. I love the simple yet elegant lines of Harris’s winterscapes.

Leave a Reply

