Great Art Reads

I love to read, and I especially love to read about art. Here are some of my favorite art related books.

.

books

I love to read, and I especially love to read about art.

Here are some of my favorite art related books:

My Name is Asher Lev – Chaim Potek

The conflict between tradition and individualism is examined in this coming of age story about a maturing Jewish artist in 1950’s New York City.

The Agony and the Ecstasy – Irving Stone

An in depth, biographical novel about the life and times of Michelangelo Buonarroti. Whether it be about the creation of a masterpiece or the goings on in the world around him, just about everything in this novel is informative and engaging.

Lust for Life – Irving Stone

Another one of Stone’s biographical novels, this time about Vincent Van Gogh. A compelling portrayal of history’s most famous tortured artist.

deKooning, An American Master – Mark Stevens and Annalyn Swan

A thorough biography about one of the most influential artists of the 20th century.

The Painted Word – Tom Wolfe

A controversial book that had the art world up in arms when it was first published in 1975. It still provokes today.

Picasso’s War – Russell Martin

The story behind Guernica, arguably the most important political artwork of the 20th century.

The Map and the Territory – Michel Houellebecq

A novel about fictitious French artist Jed Martin and his rise to fame. Houellebecq throws himself and some murder into the mix as well.

The Artist at Work – Albert Camus ( from Exile and the Kingdom)

A short story about a long struggling artist who finally finds success only to discover, it isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.

7 responses to “Great Art Reads

    • Thanks Joanne, I’m glad you liked the list. I did receive your comment and it should be up now. WordPress is set up so that comments need to be approved before they show on this blog. I approve. Thanks again.

  1. I was thrilled to recognize a couple of those titles! Agony and Ecstacy I just recommended last night! And Painted Word…I didn’t know it was controversial…I read it in the late 70’s. I think I’ll re-read it. You’ve got great taste in art books, how about “CVJ: Nicknames of Maitre D’s & Other Excerpts from Life” by Julian Schnabel before his film career.

  2. Pingback: Great Art Reads | cindyschnackel

Leave a Reply

