The Art of Music

I love music and I cannot create without it. My musical choices vary but currently, my playlist includes the following tunes.

.

500_Cent

ABOVE: Marilyn Manson, 500 Cent, watercolor, 30 x 22 inches

Pollock liked Jazz, Bowie likes Balthus; Warhol managed a band, Hirst played in one. Art & Music. Music & art. The two go together like golf and a cart.

Unfortunately, I haven’t a musical bone in my body. I will gladly show my art here, there and everywhere, but I am far too self conscious to sing – I’m pretty sure I’d be tone deaf if I did.

As for instruments, I played the clarinet in elementary school. Sounded OK when everyone else was playing. Sounded like shit when they weren’t.

What I lack in musical talent, I make up for in musical appreciation. I love music and I cannot create without it.

My musical choices vary but currently, my playlist includes:

  • Air, Surfing on a Rocket
  • Beach House, Walk In The Park
  • Beirut, Santa Fe
  • The Flaming Lips, Do You Realize?
  • Gary Jules, Mad World
  • Interpol, NYC
  • The Kooks, Shine On
  • The National, Afraid of Everyone
  • The Pixies, Here Comes Your Man
  • Radiohead, Let Down
  • The Shins, New Slang
  • Snow Patrol, Run
  • The Temper Trap, Sweet Disposition
  • Wilco, Jesus, Etc.

If you’re viewing this on a desktop computer, you can listen to the above playlist here

Leave a Reply

