How I Became an Artist

There is no easy way to become an artist. For most of us, it’s a struggle. Here is how I stumbled upon my passion.

.

a

ABOVE: David McDonough, Look, mixed media, 18.5 x 22.5 x 2 inches

As a child, I was always drawing, and my parents had to force me to play with other children.

In elementary school, art was my best subject, and I won numerous competitions and awards.

In high school, I discovered apathy, and I quit drawing. Art was just an easy subject.

In University, I discovered weed, and it amplified my apathy. I didn’t take any art or arts related courses.

Once out of school, I slacked my way through most of my twenties without any drive or ambition.

One day, after a lengthy bong session, it hit me: I had no hobbies or interests. That really bothered me, so I laid down the bong, and I picked up a brush.

Because I had neglected my talent for years, my first efforts were downright awful. Undeterred, I practiced non-stop, and in so doing, I rediscovered my passion.

After four years, and hundreds of hours, my art had gone from awful to okay. After another four years, and thousands of hours, it was good enough to start showing.

It was tough at first (I faced an almost overwhelming amount of rejection), but I refused to quit, and I applied to the best shows over and over again.

After developing a unique style and building a consistent body of work, it slowly began to get better, and I went from showing my art to nobody, to showing it to thousands.

That is how I became an artist.

I still have a long way to go, but I am definitely on the right track.

4 responses to “How I Became an Artist

Leave a Reply

