Q & A

Artpromotivate provides free tips for artists on topics such as promotion, websites and blogging. Last October, I was one of their spotlighted artists.

.

b

ABOVE: David McDonough, Darkness, mixed media, 21 x 22.5 x 2 inches

Last October, I was a spotlighted artist on artpromotivate. Here is an excerpt:

What are you trying to convey to viewers through your art?

Truthfully, that really depends on the individual piece, and/or the series in which it was produced.

Virtually everything I create has meaning, and I am glad to explain my reasons. That said, I respect the intelligence of my viewers, and I trust them to draw their own conclusions.

Some works are political; some personal.

Where do you find inspiration?

I find inspiration everywhere.

Previously, my work was nature-based. Recently, I have become fascinated with the urban landscape.

As for artists, I love all types of art, and I am constantly reading about, and looking at the works of others.

Do you have a day job?

Like many artists, I am forced to take a day job in order to make ends meet. It is also necessary as I use incredibly expensive materials.

I prefer to not do anything overly creative in my day job, so that I can focus all of my creative energies on my artwork.

If you could live your life over again, would there be anything you would do differently?

I don’t think I’d change much, but I may have gone to art school instead of getting a BA in Sociology.

Leave a Reply

