They Said What?

I love artist quotes. Oftentimes, they are insightful, informative, and inspirational. The following statements are none of the those things.

.

With Dead Head 1991 by Damien Hirst born 1965

ABOVE: Damien Hirst, With Dead Head, 1991, photograph, 22.5 x 30 inches, Tate/National Galleries of Scotland, Photo: © Tate, London [2014]

I love quotes. Oftentimes, they are insightful, informative, and inspirational. The following are none of the above:

“I’m the closest thing to Picasso that you’ll see in this fuckin’ world.” Julian Schnabel

“I can’t wait to get into a position to make really bad art and get away with it.” Damien Hirst

“A lot of my work is about sales.” Jeff Koons

“I’ve nothing to say.” Anish Kapoor

All is not lost. Here’s Ai Weiwei to save the day:

“For me, it is OK as long as I can breathe, as long as my heart is pumping, as long as I can express myself.”

“If my art has nothing to do with people’s pain and sorrow, what is ‘art’ for?”

Thanks Ai.

Leave a Reply

