Terror and Beauty: Francis Bacon and Henry Moore

I recently visited the Art Gallery of Ontario to see the Francis Bacon and Henry Moore exhibition. This show isn’t for everyone. It’s depressing as hell.

.

baconPNG

ABOVE: Francis Bacon, Portrait of Isabel Rawsthorne, 1966, oil on canvas, 37.1 x 31.2 x 2.3 inches, Tate Collection, Photo: © Tate, London [2014]

BELOW: Henry Moore, Reclining Figure, 1951, plaster cast, 42.5 x 91 x 29.5 inches, Art Gallery of Ontario, Photo: © Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto [2014]

Reclining-Figure-HenryMoore-1951PNG

This past weekend, I visited the Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO) to see the Francis Bacon and Henry Moore exhibition.

Titled Terror and Beauty, the show is heavy on the terror, and light on the beauty. Even the Moore’s – which are the prettier of the two – are curated in a manner that draws attention to the ugly within.

This show isn’t for everyone. It’s depressing as hell.

Fortunately for me:

  • I don’t rely on art to make me happy.
  • I don’t need art to be pretty.
  • I love the dark.
  • I love the twisted.
  • I love the ugly.

I’ve seen many Moore’s, but rarely have I seen a Bacon. That’s because there are very few of them on display in Canada, and that alone, is worth the price of admission.

Some may dislike the curation; others the art. If you’re like me, you’ll like it just fine.

Terror and Beauty: Francis Bacon and Henry Moore is at the AGO until July 20, 2014.

2 responses to “Terror and Beauty: Francis Bacon and Henry Moore

  1. Pingback: Henry Moore sculpture exhibition | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  2. Pingback: British artists Francis Bacon and Henry Moore exhibited in Canada | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

