An Afternoon with Duchamp

Books on art are often difficult, but they don’t have to be. Marcel Duchamp: The Afternoon Interviews by Calvin Tomkins is a must read for artists.

.

duchamp_cover_final_front_back-crop

My e-reader recently broke, so to feed my habit, I hit the local bookstore in search of a fix.

While rummaging through the art section, I came across Marcel Duchamp: The Afternoon Interviews and immediately, I was intrigued.

To me, Duchamp has always been an enigma. On the one hand, he’s a genius whose place in history is all but assured. On the other, he has inspired a lot of weak and lazy art.

I had my doubts about the book, but above all else, I worried that it would be…well…just plain weird.

After going back and forth for several minutes, I finally decided to take the plunge. I’m glad I did. This book is awesome.

The interviewer – Calvin Tomkins – does an excellent job of keeping it casual, and Duchamp comes across as a laid-back and decent dude.

Although he’s spawned a lot of difficult art, this is not a difficult book. If you’ve got an afternoon to fill, I highly recommend you spend it with Duchamp.

Leave a Reply

