Works in Progress: Part 2

For those of you not on social media, here are three of my latest artworks, with a shot of each before completion.

.

ABOVE: David McDonough, After the Strom: Sir Winston Churchill Park, mixed media, 6.5 x 7.2 x 1 inches

ABOVE: David McDonough, After the Storm: Trinity Bellwoods Park, mixed media, 7.5 x 6 x 1 inches

ABOVE: David McDonough, After the Storm: McMichael Canadian Art Collection (Grounds), mixed media, 6.5 x 6.9 x 1 inches

About my working process:

Each piece is based on a specific tree I photographed this summer (locations are listed in the titles).

After printing up the photos, I used tracing paper to get the basic outline of each tree. Then, using the same paper, I carbon transferred each image onto mat board, and cut them out with an x-acto knife.

After cutting out all the trees, I painted them, then applied a coat of mica paste with a palette knife.

Once the mica had dried, I cut up some small pieces of wood, painted them silver, and glued them to the back of each tree. Then, I glued each tree to its own wood panel – which I also painted silver.

Leave a Reply

