Toronto the Good

From politics to popular culture (and all points in between), artistic inspiration is everywhere. Of all my influences, the city of Toronto is among the biggest.

.

ABOVE: David McDonough, Old School, digital photograph

BELOW: David McDonough, Up, digital photograph

I love Toronto. I’ve lived here for almost 15 years, and I honestly couldn’t see myself living anywhere else. Recently, the city has become more than just a home, it’s become a muse.

When I moved here, my biggest influence was the Group of Seven, and the majority of my work was nature-based. Since then, I’ve grown more urban, and so has my art. This is due, in part, to gallery hopping, but mostly, it is the result of random wanderings, and day-to-day experiences.

As I continue to evolve as an artist, it’s likely my art will too. No matter where it takes me, there will always be a piece of Toronto within it.

2 responses to “Toronto the Good

Leave a Reply

