Nuit Blanche 2014

I love Autumn; it’s my favorite time of the year. With the changing of the leaves, comes another Nuit Blanche – an art party, or for the youngsters among us, a street party.

.

ABOVE: Lars Jan and Early Morning Opera, Holoscenes, 2014, performance at Toronto’s Nuit Blanche

This past Saturday, artists from around the world descended upon Toronto for Nuit Blanche – an all night, arts festival.

There are a lot of opinions regarding this event, many of which reside in the “how is this art?” camp. While I’m not going to get into that here, I will say this:

Nuit Blanche is best served without expectations. Go for a walk and look at some stuff, then go home and do it again next year. That’s it. That’s all.

Well…not entirely:

This years edition was a lot more spaced out than in previous years, and sadly, the financial district – which is a ghost town after hours – was left empty. My understanding is that this was done to ease overcrowding. It didn’t help; it was as crowded as ever (hint: go out later if you’re at all claustrophobic).

And now, the art:

As I mentioned earlier, it’s best to tackle Nuit Blance without expectations. This is because most of the art favors spectacle over substance – it’s often big, it’s often in your face, and it may, or may not mean anything.

Wow! I’m not really selling it am I? Okay, here are some things I liked:

Corporate art…no wait, I hated that!

Okay, okay, I liked the following:

Piece by Piece, Clare Twomey

Holoscenes, Lars Jan and Early Morning Opera

Global Rainbow, Yvette Mattern

Walk Among Worlds, Maximo Gonzalez

Leave a Reply

